Let the world spice up your life.

Nicole.R's Tutor Profile

Category: Language | English

Next Available Slot  

Feedback for this tutor  

more→

General notices  

more→

Profile  

Introduction:

Hello! I’m Nicole! I graduated from university with a dual degree in Japanese studies and Chinese studies, Asian-American studies minor and East Asian studies certificate. In university, I was able to visit Japan. I hope to visit again, and travel to many other countries!

Teaching Experience:

During university, I was involved in many cross-cultural clubs, language immersion programs, and ESL volunteer programs.  I taught English to graduate students and working adults in multiple formats, conversation practice, grammar study, online, etc. I helped proofread essays, and created personalized lessons.  

Teaching Qualifications:

  • 120 hour TEFL Certification
  • 10 hour TEYL (Teaching English to Young Learners) Certificate
  • 10 hour Business English Certificate
  • 40 hour Grammar Certificate

 

Recommended path for taking classes:

I recommend having a trial lesson before starting regular lessons so I have a chance to learn about your interests and learning styles to better create lesson plans for you and help you reach your goals. I also welcome you bringing your own material. Before starting each regular lesson I like getting an idea of your prior knowledge on the topic. Students of any age and any level are welcome to take my classes.

Classes offered:
Children's lesson (without homework)
Children's lessons (homework included)
Free talk Conversations


My teaching philosophy:
Language is like a puzzle, grammar is the glue, vocabulary is the puzzle pieces, sentences are a completed puzzle. In my classes, I emphasize the speaking approach by getting the student to practice using the language they know and building on top of that. This allows the previous material to be reinforced and for you to progress in your language journey.

My language journey:

I have been studying Japanese for 10+ years. My Japanese language journey started with self-study, and I graduated high school a year early because I wanted to formally learn the language. I found that my language skills skyrocketed because I had a native or near-native teachers who could correct and foster my language learning. Although, I emphasize the communicative approach I do also offer other lessons.

Hobbies:

In my free time I enjoy, playing guitar, violin, and watching YouTube. Recently, I got back into cooking both vegetarian (for me) and non-vegetarian food!


Whenever it got difficult, I always reminded myself of why I wanted to learn what I wanted to learn. Motivation is important for doing anything in life. Don’t worry too much about making mistakes what matters more is you getting your ideas out, I can help you with any mistakes. So let’s learn together and encourage one another!


 


This tutor's cancellation policy

Before request is confirmed (fixed)
• Cancelation possible at any time without charge.
After request is confirmed (fixed)
• Less than 12hours before lesson start time.→ 100% of price charged.
• Between 12-24hours before lesson start time.→ 50% of price charged.
No-Show→ 100% of price charged.
New Students Welcome!

All lessons by this tutor  

Write, Read, Learn

Consultation/Introduction

30min 700P

Skype Lesson

紹介しましょうか?

Free Talk (Conversation)

25min 1,300P

Skype Lesson

Free Talk (Conversation) 50 mins

50min 2,000P

Skype Lesson

Reading

50min 2,000P

Skype Lesson

Knowledge is Power!

Write, Read, Learn

Feedback from students (10)  

See all feedback for this tutor→

Nicole.R

Nicole.R


From:   In:

Category taught

English Native
Japanese Proficient
Chinese Proficient
Korean Daily conversation

Certificate in English Grammar P

TEFL A

31

27

Less than an hour!

0%

Last Login: Less than a day

Available Times  

Mon 07:00   11:30
Tue 07:00   11:30
Wed 07:00   11:30
Thu 07:00   11:30
Fri 07:00   11:30

Shown in Asia/Tokyo time. Will show in your timezone when you log in.

Got a question? Click to Chat