Fiona フィオナ

from
in
Acceptance of new students limited

Lesson Categories


Language Fluency

English Native
Japanese Proficient
Chinese Just a few words
French Just a few words

Certificates

Master of Arts TESOL (Distinction)
Bachelor of Arts
CELTA Pass (Grade A)
JLPT N3 Pass
This qualification has been verified by Cafetalk.

Tutor Stats

1071
Lessons
369
Students
-
Response
0%
Canceled
NDA
accepted
Video
Camera
using
25 days ago
logged in

Available Times  

This tutor usually accepts requests up to 6 hours before the desired lesson time
Mon 20:00   21:30
Tue 20:00   21:30
Wed 20:00   21:30
Thu 20:00   21:30
Fri 20:00   21:30
May change depending on week.
Shown in Asia/Tokyo time.

Fiona フィオナ Tutor Profile

This tutor is currently on leave.
British Australian | BA, MA TESOL, CELTA | Tokyo, Japan | Adults
 
ABOUT ME:
Hello! My name is Fiona and I live in Tokyo, Japan with my husband, one year old daughter and our miniature dachshund. I was born in Bedford, England and have also lived in Perth, Australia and Kurashiki, Japan. Together with my daughter, we enjoy long neighbourhood walks, time at the park, reading, water play, and singing and dancing to music. We love Winnie the Pooh - my daughter’s favourite character is Tigger! In my (limited!) free time, I enjoy learning about infant nutrition and toddler language development, watching Netflix (I love The Good Place and Modern Family), swimming, and playing a bit of Mario Kart. I’m hoping to set some time aside to study for the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (N2). 

Illustration: Return to the Hundred Acre Wood. Images by Mark Burgess/Egmont Publishing.
 
MY TEACHING EXPERIENCE:
I taught English at a Japanese senior high school for two years before leaving to start postgraduate studies and get married! In 2016, I visited Cambridge, England and completed an intensive month-long CELTA (an initial teacher training qualification). I really enjoyed working with students and other teachers of all ages and nationalities during this time. Last year I completed my Master’s degree in Arts (TESOL), submitting my thesis just four days before my daughter was born! During my studies, I taught lessons here on Cafetalk, as well as at an international school working with young learners. I’m also a speaking examiner, and have travelled from Fukuoka to Shizuoka, Japan conducting hundreds of speaking exams. 

Illustration: Return to the Hundred Acre Wood. Images by Mark Burgess/Egmont Publishing.

MY TEACHING STYLE:
I specialise in teaching adults and young adults communicative English. Lessons take all kinds of shape - from free conversations about our favourite things at the moment to deeper discussions of current affairs, practice with particular grammar structures and assistance with preparing for exams or presentations. My lesson goals include decreasing my talking time and increasing yours, recognising individual student needs, and getting to know you better each lesson. While I can understand some Japanese, let’s try and use only English in our lessons to really improve your listening and speaking skills! 

Featured Interview

Q. Hi Fiona! Would you introduce yourself briefly to the Cafetalk community? A. Hello! My name is Fiona, and I'm a British-Australian living in Japan. I’m almost 24 years old, and I’ve been involved in English education over the past few years; something I’ve really developed a passion for. I also love travelling and meeting new people from all over the world. Q. Originally, you were born in the ...

This tutor's cancellation policy

Before request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Cancellation possible at any time without charge.

After request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Less than 2hours before lesson start time.→ 50% of price charged.
  • No-Show→ 100% of price charged.

Lessons by this tutor

Got a question? Click to Chat