Lesson Categories


Language Fluency

Japanese Native
English Near-Native
French Just a few words
Polish Just a few words

Tutor States

35
Lessons
22
Students
Less than an hour!
Response
0%
Canceled
NDA
accepted
Video
Camera
using
about 1 hour ago
logged in

Available Times  

This tutor usually accepts requests up to 6 hours before the desired lesson time
Mon 22:30   23:30
Tue 21:30 Wed 00:00
Wed 22:30   23:30
Fri 22:30   23:30
May change depending on week.
Shown in Asia/Tokyo time.

General Notices

・・・Special Offer until February 12th Wednesday・・・
Being new on Cafetalk, I'm currently working on getting used to the whole set up and making necessary adjustments. It might make you feel a little unsettled sometimes so I'd like to offer most of the lessons at reduced points, starting from 400 points. This offer applies to bookings made by February 12th Wednesday.
Please do note that bookings made on or after February 13th will be at full price, which you can find out at the top of each lesson description page.

Hello, I'm Ikuko (^^)/
I started off my teaching career with "school English" after finishing junior high school teacher training course at a college in Japan. Since moving here though I've been intrigued by the challenges and thought process we Japanese speakers often go through while learning to speak English, and become passionate about making our English come alive!Hence my recent lessons generally focus on practical side of English. We can also work towards a goal of passing an Eiken exam, or review a particular grammar you're not sure about.  I'm also happy to help in any other ways I can so please feel free to let me know what's on your mind.

Here is an example of one of my lessons



 *I have lived in UK since 2002 and my accent, spelling and expressions are rather influenced by British English.
 
Learning languages is like a journey and anyone can have ups and downs. But as the expression "practice makes perfect" implies, our effort definitely pays off !
 
I'd love to find a way to make that journey as enjoyable as possible for you (*˘︶˘*).。.:*♡

Photo : New Lanark, Scotland

 
*About Myself*

(^^) Name
Ikuko
 
(^^) Where I've been
Born and brought up in Kanagawa Japan.
Moved to UK in 2002 and live in beautiful Scotland with my English husband and 2 children.
 
(^^) What I enjoy
Creative things such as cooking, sewing, decorating ...
Afternoon tea with friends occasionally.
Music, I play the piano myself and sometimes along with my daughter who plays the violin. My favourite musicals are Beauty and the Beast and Annie.
Currently learning Polish and French, both slow progress but not giving up!
Being a mum has been my biggest project!

Photo : Afternoon Tea

(^^) What I'm like
Said to be positive, expressive and good at noticing details.
Moving to a foreign country has taught me a lot of things like how it's ok to be relaxed about so many things in life too (^_-)
 

Photo : City View from Edinburgh Castle, Scotland

*My Story of English Learning*

I started to learn English at the age of 13 and most of my basic knowledge comes from those several years of school days.
But what really made the difference for me in terms of conversation was having opportunies to practice speaking at an English conversation school where I met teachers from English speaking countries such as US, Canada, UK, Australia and New Zealand.
It helped me to "sense" to a certain extent how to think or even feel when using English I guess.
 
Still, after moving to UK I struggled from time to time with understanding what was being said due to the speed and various accents I had not been used to. Also there were times when I couldn't think of any relevant English words to express my thoughts or feelings. Now I feel quite comfortable with what I hear and have no problem explaining what I mean, and I'm glad I never gave up.
 
Although there is no doubt that grammar and vocabulary are essential part of language learning, I find the secret of good communication is often more to do with our being proactive, involved and making each experience count than speaking 100% accurately all the time. To add to that, being persistent, having sense of humour and getting to know the culture and backgrounds of those we come in contact with help as well.
 
As someone whose mother tongue is Japanese and enthusiastic about English learning, I have noticed and thought about many things through different experiences over the past years.
I would be happy and thrilled if any of them can contribute towards your English learning journey!!

Photo : Mull of Galloway, Scotland





 

This tutor's cancellation policy

Before request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Cancellation possible at any time without charge.

After request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Less than 2hours before lesson start time.→ 100% of price charged.
  • Between 2-12hours before lesson start time.→ 50% of price charged.
  • No-Show→ 100% of price charged.

Lessons by this tutor

All Lessons
English
Junior High
Qualifications Testing

Got a question? Click to Chat