Lesson Categories


Language Fluency

English Native
Japanese Daily conversation
Spanish Just a few words
French Just a few words
Serbian Just a few words
Portuguese Just a few words
Croatian Just a few words

Certificates

Bachelor of Arts
This qualification has been verified by Cafetalk.

Tutor States

3277
Lessons
492
Students
Less than 6 hours
Response
1.1%
Canceled
NDA
accepted
Video
Camera
using
6 hours ago
logged in

Available Times  

Mon 14:00 Tue 00:00
Tue 10:00   23:00
Wed 10:00 Thu 00:00
Thu 10:00   23:30
Sat 14:00   21:00
Sun 14:00   23:30
Actual availability may differ. Please check when you make a request.
Shown in Asia/Tokyo time.

General Notices

Matthew Tutor Profile

Hi!

My name is Matthew and I am from Buffalo, NY. I have been teaching English to Japanese students since 2006, when I moved to Japan. I lived there until 2012 and really enjoyed my time there. I miss Japan! Hopefully, I will be back there soon. Currently, I am back in the US after travelling the world and teaching English. 

I want my students to have fun during their lessons! I think we learn best when we are having fun and interested. It’s best to learn when we aren’t afraid of making mistakes. Mistakes are a crucial part of learning. So, I like to get to know my students and build a good relationship with them. This helps students feel relaxed in my lessons and really explore the language. 

During my lessons, I allow my students to speak as much as possible. In order to improve our speaking, we need to speak. While you are speaking, I am typing any mistakes you make in the Skype chat box. Then, I will provide you with the corrections and alternative words or expressions. 

Since I have lived in Japan before, I know a lot about Japanese culture and the language. I feel this really helps students feel comfortable in my lesson. 

Prior to teaching, I was a successful manager at a large company. I understand the business world well and have helped many students improve their Business English. 

I enjoy teaching all types of English. General Conversation, Kids English, Travel English, Test Preparation (TOEIC, TOEFL, EIKEN, IELTS), Interview Preparation and whatever else you are eager to learn. 

In my free time, I really enjoy the outdoors. I love camping, hiking, sports, reading, writing, learning, listening to music and meeting new people. I hope to meet you soon as well! 

Thanks for checking out my profile :)

This tutor's cancellation policy

Before request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Cancellation possible at any time without charge.

After request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Less than 12hours before lesson start time.→ 100% of price charged.
  • No-Show→ 100% of price charged.

Lessons by this tutor

Got a question? Click to Chat